Posted in Everyday Life, Family

Home

When I mention home, what is your first thought? Do you picture yourself as a child, reliving a precious memory of years gone by?  Or do you explore more recent thoughts of life with your own children or others you hold dear?

Home can mean so many different things to so many different people.  It can be the structure you live in, the house or city you grew up in, or even a special hideout where you feel relaxed and completely yourself.

To me, home is being in my place, wearing my comfortable clothes, sharing life with my people.  Those people who have seen me at my most vulnerable moments and still choose to love me.  Those who have spied my house at its dirtiest and, if truth be told, likely contributed to its disarray.  Those who will eat whatever I throw together, no fancy meals required.  Those who are rarely bothered by the loud, messy, and energetic atmosphere known as my living quarters.  Some are family, some are close friends; the feeling of home is common to both.

Home is seldom about me. There are certainly things within this house that whisper my name, reflecting who I am.  Such things as my recliner perched between a front window and a shelf holding my favorite books, my softest blanket and biggest coffee mug sitting nearby.  My well-used cappuccino maker and blender seated side by side on the kitchen counter, and my lovely collection of crosses strategically placed in my bible study area.

But more likely to be noticed is the evidence of family and faith.  Remember those people I mentioned earlier? Their faces are scattered throughout my home.  Hanging on the walls, sitting atop the tables, and tucked within photo albums. They are everywhere.  Their very presence resonates home to me.

And in the midst of it all, you will spot some of our best-loved bible verses sprinkled throughout.  Scriptures that have helped us navigate this life, this family, this home.  They remind us that our choices matter to more than just us.  There is a bigger picture. A greater purpose. This, too, is a picture of home.

Family equals home.  Dear friends equal home.  Faith equals home.

Think it over, my friend.    What is your definition of home?

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

