Posted in Fear

Struggling with Fear

window pane and rain

Fear has always been a struggle for me.

I don’t recall when we first met, but I do know that being shy and introverted provided ample opportunity for fear to show up and take root.  So many occasions, in fact, that it became a regular companion of mine.

I experienced fear as a young child over things that seem silly now.  Fear as a teenager concerning things that weren’t quite as silly, some of which would probably still frighten me today.  Fear as a new mother, and sometimes as the seasoned mother I am now.

Fear, fear, and more fear.

Sometimes it is very subtle, only a random thought passing quickly through my mind. Other times it consumes me as a pounding reality, causing me to squirm and panic.

I don’t like fear. It makes me weak and vulnerable. It hinders me from thinking clearly.  It robs me of sleep and steals peace from my day.  It is a monster, working hard to shut me down.

But something amazing happened in my life. I began to realize fear could be bridled.  Courage could be found. Help was available.  All I needed to do was grab hold of the power accessible to me through my relationship with Jesus.  Somehow I knew this power would enable me to overcome the debilitating effects of fear.

By digging into the word of God, one verse at a time, I learned that God’s people knew a thing or two about fear.  So I memorized a few scriptures such as Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”, and Psalm 56:3-4, “When I am afraid, I will put my trust in You. In God, whose word I praise, in God I have put my trust; I shall not be afraid… ”

And do you know what I discovered?  The truth and power of God’s word is tougher than fear’s grip.

Yes, fear still rattles me from time to time, but it doesn’t paralyze me.  When it begins to get the upper hand, I unleash my go-to verses, and fear must back down.  After all, it is no match for the One who created me, and loves me, and wants His best for me.  No match at all.

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

One thought on “Struggling with Fear

  1. I learned what fear was,
    F-false
    E-evidence
    A-appearing
    R-real
    The bible, in the old testament says this, You shall fear only the Lord for He is over all things! I may be afraid of many things but I think of that and know with God/Jesus I can do all things.
    To overcome fear is action.

    Like

Leave a Reply

