Posted in Faith, Family

That, My Friend, Is Love

image

On a nice summer day, the breath was knocked out of me. Not literally, but I felt it just the same. I expected my day to be fabulous. I would see my first grandbaby by ultrasound, if the little fellow chose to cooperate.

We were excited to catch a glimpse of that sweet baby boy. We were not expecting anything unusual. However, this life is often unpredictable and our plan, as wonderful as it seems, is not always a reality.

So there we were, on a beautiful day, facing the ugly truth that all was not well with our precious little one. The diagnosis was Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome. Basically, the left side of his tiny heart did not form properly, requiring at least three open heart surgeries and possibly a transplant.

As we sat listening to the prognosis, I couldn’t help but think that even though we were taken by surprise and devastated by this news, our God was not. He knew what awaited us that day, and He was prepared to handle it.

So in our brokenness, we knew where to turn. To the One who holds us in His hands. To the One who hears our cries. To the One who answers our prayers. He who makes no mistakes, who works all things together for good. Yes, to Him we would turn for He alone was capable, unshakeable, and in complete control. In Him was where our hope must lie.

As we were preparing for baby Elijah’s arrival, God led his mommy to the anchor symbol. From there, she found the verses in Hebrew 6 which declare that those who have taken refuge in God should take hold of the hope set before us. And that this hope we have is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us straight into God’s inner sanctuary. Straight into His loving arms.

A few days later, I sat in church with a heavy heart. A friend took the stage and begin to sing a song I had never heard, Anchor by Hillsong. The first lines of that song stated, “I have this hope as an anchor for my soul. Through every storm I will hold to you. With endless love all my fear is swept away. In everything I will trust in You.”

As my tears began to flow, I could sense God whispering to me. I was reminded once again that God was with us, that His love for us is great.  I was certain our precious baby Elijah was loved by God even more than we could possibly imagine.

What a blessing to have the God of the universe care about me and those who are so very special to me. He has so much to do, so many to look after, yet my pain, my worries, and my concerns do not go unnoticed.

That, my friend, is love. And the beauty of it is this: I did nothing to deserve His love.  Neither did you. But His love is there for us just the same.

Although the difficulties in this life may dishearten you and leave you longing for more, you will find satisfaction in the love, peace, and comfort available in Him. Please don’t miss it. Search for it in the midst of your hard places. You will not be disappointed.

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?” Psalm 8: 3-4

 

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

One thought on “That, My Friend, Is Love

  1. The Anchor holds in spite of the storm…. I just posted that song on my Facebook page earlier today. I found myself drawn music when life roads get stormy. Thanks for the reminder…I just brought my husband home from a short stay at the heart hospital and needed to be reminded again! Coincidence, I think not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

