Posted in Faith, Family

Being a Heart Mommy

image.jpegToday I share a post written by my daughter who is a heart mommy.   I was not familiar with this term until a few months ago when my grandson was born with a serious heart defect. Since then, I have come to love and respect this special group of people… these special heart mommies and daddies chosen by God to love on and care for precious children born with heart defects.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waking up to feed a baby can get old pretty fast. We crave sleep, and it being interrupted night after night is exhausting. But when I pick him up from his bed and lay him in mine to change his diaper, give meds and his bottle, and he gives me his big, precious, open mouth smile, all my “discomforts” melt away. This little boy holds apart of me that nobody else has ever held. When he finished eating I just laid there with him in my arms smothering him in kisses, which he has gotten very good at returning, and I couldn’t keep my mind away from the “what ifs”. With his second surgery probably not too far off, it’s getting hard to not worry about him. There have been so many babies pass recently because of a heart defect, and many had the same one Elijah has, it makes me fear for him, for his future. I hold him and think “what if I don’t have him to hold much longer” “what if his heart fails” “what if surgery goes wrong”  “what if, what if, what if”… What ifs suck.. So tonight I’m trying to remember the better what ifs. “What if I shut my brain up and remember to trust God?” What if I enjoy my special baby and all the joy he brings?” What if ‘I’ stop acting like I have any control over his life?” I breathe a lot easier then. Being a heart mom is so hard, harder than I ever admit.  But being a heart mom makes me realize just how precious his life is, and how fragile it is. So as long as he’s still here for me to wake up to feed, and to hold in my arms, I’m gonna remember to appreciate everything about him and leave the uncontrollable things to a God who is so much bigger than my son’s half a heart! A God who will never be shaken.  Jeremiah 29:11 says it all.”

Yes, heart moms, all moms- God does have a plan for us, for our children, for our families.  May we lean on Him – and on one another- as those plans are fulfilled.

God bless our sweet heart babies.

 

 

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

One thought on “Being a Heart Mommy

  1. What an awesome testimony! May God continue to be with you as you walk this path He has you on and may His blessings be new and fresh to you every morning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

