Posted in Faith, Family

In Search of Me

street lights

Somewhere along the way I’ve lost myself.

It seems my identity is deeply hidden beneath what I do and for whom I do it.

I proudly wear the title of friend, daughter, sister, wife, mother, and Mia to my first grandchild. I’m very comfortable in these roles.  I love being these things to my people. I am very much aware of the blessing of family God has gifted to me, and I wouldn’t desire life any other way.

Yet when asked who I truly am outside these roles, I find it extremely difficult to conjure up an intelligible response.  Truth be told, when the labels are stripped away, I am quite uncertain of who I am.  And that scares me.

So I’ve decided to take a little journey.

  • To peek into my past
  • To ponder where I’ve been and where I’m headed
  • To revisit the beautiful portions
  • To recall the heartaches, however painful – and the good I’ve known because of them
  • To identify my struggles – and to allow myself some grace as I work through them
  • To dive deep into God’s word as I uncover the camouflaged path set before me
  • To know my Creator more intimately
  • To understand more clearly what it is I mean to Him

All in hopes of finding myself again.

Perhaps you, too, are searching for your purpose, trying to find your way, or hoping to discover your worth.  If so, sweet friend, may I invite you to join me on this quest?  I don’t know exactly what it will look like, nor do I know how quickly the answers will come.  But this I know, when we seek solutions within God’s Word, we will never be disappointed.

So off I go, in search of me ….

 

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

