Posted in Faith

True Identity

 

herding sheep

Have you missed me this past couple of weeks? If you haven’t noticed my absence of blog posts, it’s okay. I understand. We are all so busy. The days fly by. The weeks come and go almost as quickly. To be honest, it doesn’t seem like such a long time to me either.

You see, I’ve been preoccupied with finding myself.  Remember my last post?

I’ve been pondering some tough questions — and sharing my bunched up, confused ramblings with a few trusted friends.  Friends I felt were unlikely to write me off as crazy, even though that’s exactly how I’ve felt at times.

I’ve been searching the scriptures. Really searching, and studying, and searching some more.  Digging into God’s Word. Opening my heart up and allowing – more like begging-  God to pour His word deep into the crevices of my unsettled heart.

Much to my delight, that’s exactly what He has been doing.  Oh, how I love it when God shows up and shows out!

And do you know what I’ve found to be absolutely true?  My identity most certainly is defined in Him.

To this point in my life, I believe it has been – for the most part – wrapped up tightly in the labels I’ve worn.  Both those I’ve given myself and those imposed upon me by others.  But do you know what is great about labels?  They. Are. Simply. Labels.  They can be peeled off and thrown away.  Replaced with the truth, making room for me to become who it is God has called me to be.

How special is it that God does not place labels on us. Instead, He chooses to see us stripped of labels.  He notes our potential and expects us to accomplish the assignments laid before us. Just as He saw Gideon as a “mighty warrior” long before he became one, He also sees us in light of who we will become, not who we have been or who we are at the present time.

He will take what I believe about myself (those dreaded labels) and print me some new ones.  When I say, “I am too shy; I am lacking knowledge; I don’t speak well; or there are so many others who could do this better than me”, my precious God whispers to me, “You are enough. You can do this.”

He promises to equip me to do that which He has called me to do.  He reminds me that when I am weak, He is strong.  He declares I am more than a conqueror.  He proclaims I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

God knows me.  He sees me. He understands my struggles. He delights in my desire to follow Him, to obey Him, and to live for Him.

God calls me important, strong, smart and capable. Because I am His and He is mine, I can believe I am these things.  Because of Him…  I am enough because He has made me enough.   And therein lies my true identity.

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

