Posted in Faith, Family

Grandma Didn’t, and Neither Should We

image

I remember vividly my grandma cradling me as we rocked back and forth, back and forth. I must have been only four or five at the time. While the words she spoke and the songs she sang escape me, I recall feeling loved.  Safe. As if I belonged there, in her lap.

I think back to when I first grasped the idea she was sick.  My cousins and I were sent upstairs while the adults awaited the arrival of paramedics.  We peered out the windows, hoping to spy the emergency vehicles as they pulled in front of the old house built years before by grandpa and his boys.

As they wheeled grandma out on a stretcher, I was one of the few children allowed to venture downstairs to see her.  They paused long enough for me to look into her eyes, into the heart of this woman who meant so much to me.  I wondered if I would ever see her again.

My grandmother only lived a short time after that day.  At my young age, I was unable to fully understand what death meant. So I just continued on, living in my own little six year old world.

It wasn’t until many years later that I began to see the role my grandmother played in my life.  You see, although I can’t tell you specifics, I believe with all my heart my grandma prayed over me as we sat in that old rocking chair.

I am certain her prayers were answered the day I started attending church as a young teenager.  They were answered again when a cute boy at that church took notice of me, eventually becoming my best friend and later my husband.

I had no idea God was using that boy to keep me in church. I had no clue I needed God, nor did I realize the path I was walking would lead me to Him.  Through God’s goodness, I believe grandma’s greatest prayer was answered on a beautiful Sunday morning when I committed my life to Christ.

Thank you, grandma, for loving me enough to pray. Your prayers have indeed made a difference in my life. And because my life is different, my children have also been impacted by your prayers, as will their children someday. There is no greater gift you could have given us.

Friends, what we pray today will benefit those we love for years to come.

May we not become so busy, so complacent, so satisfied that we fail to prayFor our husbands. For our children. For our friends and co-workers.  For our extended family.  And most of all, for those who have yet to know Christ. 

May we never stop praying.  Grandma didn’t, and neither should we.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.  James 5:16b

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

