Posted in Family

A Letter to My Mom

old swing

Dear Mom –

Sometimes I get the feeling you’re not so sure you were a good mother.  You probably recall every mistake you made, every word you wish you had not spoken, every “yes” that should have been “no”, and every “no” that should have been “yes”. Like most moms, those memories tend to stand out the most when we ponder our role as a mother.

But please allow me to reflect on my growing up years and share with you what I remember. 

I remember feeling loved and valued and protected.

I remember a mom who allowed me to sleep on the floor of her bedroom when the darkness in my own room scared me.  A mom who never humiliated me during those years of bedwetting (even though you must have thought it would never end).

A mom who was always watching from the kitchen window as I made my way home from the bus stop.  One who listened – really listened – as I chattered non-stop about my day. 

I remember a mom who always believed in me, long before I believed in myself. My biggest cheerleader. My greatest supporter. One who often told me I could do anything I set my mind to and believed I really could.

I remember a mom who was my greatest advocate, whether it was trying to talk dad into buying me the latest name brand jeans or making sure my sleep was not interrupted after a long, stressful first day of work.

And then there’s that mom, the one who let me go when letting go was the hardest thing ever.  One who delighted in giving me my fairy-tale wedding, then secretly mourned when I moved hours away with my happily-ever-after. The one who opened her heart – and her home – to us when we returned to Arkansas a few years later.

The mom who was there for the birth of every grandchild and great grandchild, regardless of how long the wait. The one who continues to hold a special place in the hearts of her grandchildren because her grandchildren first held a special place in her heart.

This is the mom I remember. This is the mom who remains today. This is the mom who still makes me feel loved and valued and protected – and that alone is proof that you’re a good mom. 

I love you, mom.

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

