Posted in Everyday Life, Overwhelmed

Living in Denial ~ Part 1

brick wall

Somewhere along my journey, I became a little too acquainted with denial.

It began several years ago when financial ruin stood hovering over me like an angry wolf.  I felt paralyzed by fear.  Fear of being unable to pay this or that bill. Fear of losing my home, vehicle, and much of everything else. Fear that losing these things would somehow make me, as a person, less valuable, less loved. This fear gripped me tightly, threatening to strangle the very life from me- life as I knew it anyway.

Some days the best I could do was breathe. And go through the motions. And hope for a miracle.  My current reality in no way resembled the visions I had conjured up in my mind of a beautiful future.  No, this was a hard place. Harder than anything I had ever experienced. And humbling, oh so humbling. Learning to accept help from others. Sometimes needing to ask for help from others.  This is not where I wanted to be. This was not my idea of living.

So how did I respond? 

I unconsciously created a wall of defense around myself. Although I didn’t realize it at the time, that wall was called denial, and it was my coping mechanism. I began to deny or ignore everything I considered too difficult to deal with -anything I could not tolerate -anything which led me to anxiety.

At the top of my list was the tall stack of bills accumulating in my mailbox.  I had no means to pay them so I left them stranded in the box, hoping somehow they would not only vanish, but actually fail to exist. Wishful thinking, I know.  But see, that’s what you do in denial.  Intellectually, you know ignoring the bills will not make them go away. Yet emotionally, you live as if you don’t know.  You live as if ignoring your issues will eventually give you the results you want. And if you live in denial too long, you risk making a bigger mess of things. 

That particular season of hardship and denial passed, but I still find myself running back into the arms of denial from time to time.

Lacking courage to face reality.

Refusing to see truth.

Failing to choose honesty before my bump-in-the-road problem grows into a huge-impassable-mountain-of-a-problem.

Going about my daily routine appearing normal to outsiders, knowing all the while a quick peek inside my head would reveal my true state:  curled up in a fetal position, hands over my ears, eyes closed tightly, humming something – anything – to drown out the noise of harsh truth surrounding me.  

And I wonder to myself …  Can anyone else relate?

 

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

4 thoughts on “Living in Denial ~ Part 1

  1. Yes I can relate. It’s hard to deal with life’s blows. It’s like if I could just go to bed and hide under the cover the pains and uncertainties of life would go away. They don’t and this just drives me closer to my Father as I cry out to him for mercy and wisdom. I don’t see how unbelievers can handle life. Jesus Christ is my life and I couldn’t live anyother way.

    Like

  2. I can relate to this. I myself will put a wall up when things get to much. While I like to remain busy I sit in my chair wishing things would just slow down so I breathe again before the next hiccup comes along. It has been a rough year and half and I still have more to battle. But in the end I get stronger and have more perspective and wisdom to guide me to my next stepping stone. With each footstep I take I know the Lord is holding my hand to carry me through it all.

    Like

    1. Tiffany, your last sentence says it all … He is with us every step of the way. So thankful we are never truly alone!

      Like

Leave a Reply

