Posted in Faith, Family

When More Is What We Need

windows

Gratitude turns what we have into enough.

I love that saying, and I believe in its message. So much so that I have it displayed on a shelf in my sitting area. As I glance at it each morning, I am reminded of the importance of being thankful.

When I am thankful, I am more aware of God’s love for me. The assurance of His love enables me to be more content in my relationships, more capable of carrying out my daily tasks, and better at handling life’s ups and downs.

But sometimes I need more.

Not necessarily more stuff. Although another cup of fancy coffee is always welcome. No, sometimes I simply need more of the best things in life.

More time with the man I love.
Another hug from my children- wow, they grow up fast!
Extra snuggles from my grand baby.
One more smile. One more good belly laugh.
A bonus visit with a dear friend.
A fresh heart connection with a loved one.
A moment to slow down, to notice those around me, to meet another’s need.
A minute longer to sit quietly with Jesus before stepping into my day.

Yes, sometimes I need a little more.

Perhaps you’ve had a longing in your heart lately, too. Perhaps something doesn’t seem quite right. Perhaps some adjustments need to be made.

Let’s be content, yes, but let’s not become so comfortable that we fail to notice when change is needed. When improvements are overdue. Let’s not fall into the trap of believing things are as good as they’ll ever be, or that there’s no point in fixing what has not yet broken. Let’s take the initiative instead.

Let’s bravely look into the fabric of our lives and take notice of the places where it’s beginning to rub raw, where tiny holes have already formed, where the seams are barely holding. And let’s do something about it.

Let’s take our need for more to Christ. That is key.

Let’s ask Him to show us what we need to do differently, who we need to extend his love and grace to, and in what ways we need to become more intentional with our time and in our relationships.

As we seek to experience God’s best in our lives, may we be the light that shines His goodness into the lives of those around us as well.

Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. 1 John 4:7

 

 

Author:

I'm a wife, a mom, and a mia (my own special word for grandma). You may or may not be these things, and that’s okay. Chances are we're still a lot alike. I’m certain we share some of the same struggles and ponder many of the same questions. We're busy and we're tired -can I get an amen? Yet, here we are, trying to live meaningful lives, positively impact those around us, and add a little sunshine wherever we go. But it’s not easy, is it? We mess up. Life gets tough. We find ourselves in need of a friend. Someone to encourage us, stand by us, and speak truth into us. To remind us we are not alone. That, sweet sister, is where I hope to come in - not with all the answers (I’m still searching for some myself), but with a genuine concern for you and a desire to walk alongside you on this incredible -and oftentimes arduous- journey called life.

Leave a Reply

